Spring Concert: "Happy 40th Anniversary!"

Lewis J. Buckley
Sunday, May 15, 2011
2:00 PM
Pre-concert talk 30 minutes prior to concert
Location Cary Hall
1605 Massachusetts Avenue
Lexington, MA 02420 7
map & directions: Google Maps · MapQuest

free parking

Admission Adult: $18
Senior (62+): $14
Student (with ID): $14
Child (5-18): $ 6
Event Poster 146k PDF

This exciting Anniversary Celebration Concert will open with the winner of the MWS fanfare competition, Joseph Eidson’s To Those Who Fly. Dmitri Shostakovitch’s Festive Overture will be the first major work on this festive occasion, followed by Eric Whitacre’s lovely October. Elisabeth Axtell, the winner of the MWS’ annual Member Solo Competition will perform Paul Dukas’ compelling and exciting Villanelle for horn and wind ensemble. A guest conducting appearance by longtime MWS friend Tom Everett, of Harvard University will follow. Tom has chosen to conduct Karel Husa’s Smetana Fanfare and Thomas Duffy’s And Flights of Angels Sing Thee to thy Rest - dedicated to MWS founder, Jerry Gardner. MWS Music Director Lewis Buckley’s Con Sabor Español will close the first half. Following intermission, over two dozen MWS alumni will join in the fun, beginning with the final piece in the MWS’ very first concert 40 years ago, Charles Ives’ Variations on America. They will then swing into Bernstein’s joyous Three Dances from On the Town, followed by the concert’s closing selection, Alfred Reed’s moving and exciting Armenian Dances, Part I.

To Those Who FlyJoseph Eidson
First Prize - MWS International Fanfare Competition
World Premiere
Festive OvertureDmitri Shostakovich/arr.Hunsberger
OctoberEric Whitacre
VillanellePaul Dukas/arr. Miller
Elisabeth Axtell, horn

Smetana Fanfare

Karel Husa
And Flights of Angels Sing Thee to thy RestThomas Duffy
Tom Everett, guest conductor

Con Sabor Español

Lewis Buckley


Variations on America
Charles Ives/arr. Rhoads
Three Dance Episodes, “On the Town”Leonard Bernstein/arr. Stith
     I. Great Lover:  Allegro pesante
II. Lonely Town: Pas de deux
III. Times Square - 1944: Allegro
Armenian Dances, Part IAlfred Reed

* Pre-concert talks start 30 minutes before the performance. These lectures will enhance your experience by providing information and insight into the upcoming performance.

All Upcoming 2015-2016 Season Events